You are here

Glasgow 2014 reveals Rugby Sevens Competition for Commonwealth Games

Glasgow 2014 has today (Tuesday January 14) confirmed the teams and pools for the Rugby Sevens competition at this summer’s Commonwealth Games.

The sixteen teams who will strive for the coveted Gold medal in front of packed audiences at Ibrox Stadium are Australia, Canada, Cook Islands, England, Kenya, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda and Wales.

Reigning champions New Zealand, who have won all four Commonwealth Gold medals to date, have been drawn in Pool A alongside Canada, Nigeria and Scotland.

South Africa (Pool B) and Australia (Pool D) were both among the medals at the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games and, together with Samoa (Pool C) and England (Pool D), are among the nations determined to challenge the mighty All-Blacks’ dominance in Glasgow.

The four Pools confirmed by the International Rugby Board and Commonwealth Games Federation are:

• Pool A – New Zealand, Canada, Scotland, Nigeria
• Pool B – South Africa, Kenya, Cook Islands, Trinidad and Tobago
• Pool C – Samoa, Wales, Papua New Guinea, Malaysia
• Pool D – England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Uganda

A total of 45 games will be contested across two days of fierce competition at Ibrox Stadium in a fast and furious contest which requires teamwork, skill and stamina as two teams with seven athletes on the pitch go toe to toe for glory in games which last just 14 minutes.

Greg Warnecke, Head of Sport at Glasgow 2014 said:

“Glasgow will welcome most of the world’s best Rugby Sevens nations to compete at the Games. The standard of competition will be world-class, the action is fast-paced and with all of the teams playing in each session of competition, it guarantees a feast of rugby action and a brilliant atmosphere all round.”

IRB Chairman, Bernard Lapasset, said:

"For 16 years now Rugby Sevens has enjoyed being a key part of the Commonwealth Games. To compete alongside their compatriots in a multisport environment is a matter of huge pride and honour for our rugby players, who are making giant strides in this new Olympic era. We wish our Rugby athletes all the best in this magnificent international event."

Limited opportunities still remain to be part of the Rugby Sevens crowd at Ibrox with ticket prices starting from just £15 for adults. Tickets are on sale on a first-come, first-served basis online at or via the Ticketing Hotline at 0844 826 2014.

The full competition schedule – detailing dates and times of matches - will be announced next month.

Notes to Editors

1. The Commonwealth Games is an international, multi-sport event involving 70 teams of
athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930 and takes place every four years. Glasgow 2014 will be the 20th Commonwealth Games and will be held from 23 July to 3 August. It will feature 17 sports in 11 days of competition with 261 medal events on show. The Games will play host to 4500 athletes and sell 1,000,000 tickets with the event aided by an army of 15,000 volunteers. Glasgow 2014 Ltd is the official name for the Organising Committee tasked with delivering the Games in partnership with the Scottish Government, Glasgow City Council and Commonwealth Games Scotland.

3. Glasgow 2014’s official partner level sponsors are Longines, SSE, Virgin Media, BP, Ford and Emirates. For more information on Glasgow 2014’s full sponsor family, please visit

4. Glasgow 2014, the Commonwealth Games Federation and UNICEF are working together in an exciting partnership that will transform the lives of children in Scotland and throughout the Commonwealth. Using the power of sport and culture this unique partnership aims to inspire, enable and empower the children of the Commonwealth to be the best they can be.

5. For further information please contact Michelle Evans, Glasgow 2014 Press Officer Mobile: 07913 818114

The Glasgow XX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work. For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.