You are here

New Music Biennial


PRS for Music Foundation’s first ever New Music Biennial is crossing both the country and musical boundaries.

With 20 new commissions from some of our most exciting composers and containing performances by world class musicians such as City of London Sinfonia, Bourne Davis Kane and Juice Vocal Ensemble, and broadcasts across BBC Radio 3. NMC Recordings will be digitally releasing all 20 fantastic pieces.

The talented composers involved:

> Mary Ann Kennedy with new folk music written on Scottish ferry crossings (3 July Feis an Eilein Festival, Isle of Skye)

> Luke Daniels and Matheu Watson exploring Scottish drove roads (20 May East Kilbride Arts Centre)

> Samuel Bordoli’s Tete a Tete commission for choir and skateboarders at Aberdeen’s Extreme Skatepark (1 June)

> Yann Seznec’s sound installation at the Edinburgh Art Festival (31 July – 31 Aug)

All 20 New Music Biennial commissions will be performed at two special weekend showcases at London’s Southbank Centre (4-6 July) and Glasgow Concert Halls (1-2 August) where audiences can also enjoy new music by Lau, Shingai Shoniwa (The Noisettes), Matthew Herbert and Gwilym Simcock.

New Music Biennial has been developed by PRS for Music Foundation, in partnership with Creative Scotland, Arts Council England and the British Council.

The Glasgow XX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work. For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.