You are here

Day Three of the 2014 Commonwealth brings more home nation success

Scotland's Neil Fachie (SCO) and pilot Craig Maclean won the men's sprint B2 tandem final at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome on Saturday. Australia's Kieran Modra (AUS) and pilot Jason Niblett took Silver. Paul Kennedy (AUS) and pilot Thomas Clarke took Bronze.

Rahi Sarnboat (IND) won the women's 25m pistol event at Barry Buddon Shooting Centre on Saturday. Anisa Sayyed (IND) took Silver and Lalita Yauhleuskaya (AUS) the Bronze.

Zoe Smith (ENG) won the women's 58kg weightlifting final at the SECC on Saturday. Ndidi Winifred (NGR) captured Silver and Michaela Breeze (WAL) came out of retirement this ear to snatch Bronze.

Chad Le Clos (RSA) broke the Commonwealth Games record to win the men's 200m butterfly final at Tollcross Swimming Centre on Saturday. Le Clos won in 1:55.07. Grant Irvine (AUS) took Silver in 1:56.34 and Sebastien Rousseau (RSA) the Bronze in 1:56.43.

Scott Sunderland (AUS) broke the Commonwealth Games record to win the men's track cycling 1000m time trial final at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome on Saturday. SUNDERLAND won in 1:00.675 to take the Gold medal. Simon Van Velthooven (NZL) qualified  Silver in 1:01.060 and Matthew Archibald (NZL) the Bronze in 1:01.162.

Defending women's singles champion Natalie Melmore (ENG) reached the lawn bowls semi-finals in dramatic fashion, while Namibia shocked Australia in the men's pairs on a wet afternoon at Kelvingrove Lawn Bowls Centre on Saturday.

Melmore (ENG) and Caroline Brown (SCO) met in the quarter-finals after both lost their final section matches on Saturday morning, having been previously undefeated. 

Brown took charge early on to move into the lead but she lost four successive ends to trail 12-8 after 13. In a match that swung both ways in the rain of Glasgow, both players won consecutive ends as the match progressed before losing their rhythm.

The Scot looked to have things all but wrapped up when she went 19-17 up after the 23rd but Melmore was not going to give up the defence of her Delhi 2010 gold easily.

Earlier in the afternoon, the first lawn bowls medals were awarded in the para-sport mixed pairs B2/B3. South Africa's pairing of Gwen Nel and Herman Scholtz took gold after beating Robert Conway (SCO) and Irene Edgar 14-10. Australia won the Bronze medal after beating New Zealand.

Men's hockey world champion Australia got off the mark in its Commonwealth Games title defence with a 7-1 victory against Wales, while Scotland suffered a 6-2 loss to India in the last game of the day at the Glasgow National Hockey Centre on Saturday.

New Zealand narrowly maintained their  unbeaten Commonwealth record by holding off a rapid-fire Scotland 17-14 in the opening session of the Rugby Sevens at Ibrox Stadium.

The reigning champions took a comfortable 17-0 lead at the break of the pool A match. Although after the interval Scotland's Lee Jones crossed and Scott Wight (SCO) converted to cut the lead to 10 and heralded the start of a home nation comeback.

Australia became the only other Rugby Sevens team to guarantee its place in the medal competition following two blow-out wins in pool D over Sri Lanka (62-7) and Uganda (43-5).

The home nations battled through with England, Scotland and Wales all boking a place in tomorrow’s action packed Rugby Sevens at Ibrox Park.

Don’t forget you can keep up to date on sport and festival wherever you are, by downloading our free official ‘My Games’ and ‘My Results’ mobile apps. Find out more.

There are still some great opportunities to be at the heart of the action. All sales are now “for collection”, so you can buy online or from the Ticket Hotline on 0800 458 2014*, then collect the tickets at our city centre George Square Ticket Office or the Venue Ticket Office.

Read our Essential guide to Buying and Collecting Tickets at Games Time.

The Glasgow XX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work. For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.