You are here

Rugby Sevens

45 games. 16 teams. 1 Gold. Flow. Formation.


Rugby Sevens is a fast and furious contest with high point-scoring, hard hits and heroic sprints. It takes two teams of seven men and gives them just 14 minutes to win the game. It’s all about teamwork, skills and stamina and with just seven players per team, everyone’s got a job to do.

The majority of top Rugby Sevens nations in the world will be expected at Glasgow 2014. With Rugby Sevens set to make its Olympic Games debut in Rio de Janeiro in 2016, the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games will take on a new focus as the best teams in the Commonwealth look to get an early foothold in the sport for the next decade of competition.

A total of 45 games will be contested across two days of fierce competition at Ibrox Stadium, as 16 teams strive in front of packed audiences for that single Gold. 

Venue: Ibrox Stadium [South Side]

Ibrox Stadium

Watch out for: New Zealand has dominated Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens, claiming all four Gold medals to date. Other competing nations including England, Australia and South Africa are determined to challenge their crown.

International Federation: International Rugby Board

Results and Schedule 

The Glasgow XX Commonwealth Games are now over. This website is closed and for reference purposes only. Some external links may no longer work. For the latest news and information, please visit the Commonwealth Games Federation website.